The goal of the Hawaii Photo Expo Inc. is to promote interest in the art of photography by offering Big Island photographers a venue to share their work with the community and by by sponsoring educational programs to help photographers refine their craft.


Watch this space for information about the
15th Annual Expo to be held next year.

Deadline for Digital submissions:  Sunday, March 17, 2014

 Notification of acceptance: Sunday, April 13, 2014

Submission of entries at Waloa Center: Saturday, May 31st, 2014

Opening reception:  Saturday, June 7th, 2014

Pick up of accepted entries: Thursday, June 26th, 2014


If you're interested in participating in the Expo in the coming year, please email:       information@hawaiiphotoexpo.com


2013 Winners and Honorees

Left to right:  Steve Bohlert, Christopher King, Doug Halsted, Steven Garon, Bradley Westervelt, Anne Lyden, Vincent Sanekane, Yvonne Yarber Carter, Verne Presnall, Nelson Makua, Sonja Giardina (our youngest entrant), Robbyn Peck, and Renee Ishisaka.  Also honored but not present:  Hanson Tsang and Greg Ruhland.

Peoples Choice Awards 2013

With a tie vote, we have two Peoples Choice Awards.
Congratulations to Faye Soli and Christina Shirley.

Their winning images are also on the Winners page.





Anne Lyden, Associate Curator in the Department of Photographs at the J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles, has agreed to be our juror for the 2013 Expo.  Read about her on the juror page.


PayPal payment buttons have been added to the Entry Instructions page.


2012 Winners (left to right):
Michael Poland, Bryn Berg, Joy A. San Buenaventura, Liz Ambrose, Antonio Chrysostomou, Brooks Jensen, Kathleen Carr, David Dow, Yuta Momoki, Clara Sheffield, Harley Diven
Also receiving honorable mentions but not present: JD Griggs, Peter Sur, Alexis Trout




Eligibility, entry requirements,
 categories, entry fees and prizes.


Registration Form

Instructions for participants and registration form.  If you have the latest Adobe Reader, this form can be completed at your computer.

Download the latest Adobe Reader


Last updated - 9/1/13
For further information please email

or call Andrew Bisset: 345-0280